Skip to content

Olive Oil

March 21, 2012

There are several  ingredients and products I’ve grown to love and can’t live without in my kitchen.  I’m excited to share these must-have items with you because I know you’ll come to love them too.  Next time you’re making a grocery list, just check out the ‘Necessities’ category on the menu to the right for posts with these essential items.

First up:

Olive Oil
I grew up with homemade salad dressing so I’ve never been a big fan of dressing out of the bottle.  It is SO easy to make your own salad dressing and you aren’t consuming the extra salt, sugar and preservatives in bottled dressing (I will post my salad dressing recipe and method soon!).  I use a relatively good olive oil for cooking – the price is decent and the quality is good enough for cooking or for making salad dressings and other raw preparations.  A year or two ago I invested in a nice bottle of extra virgin olive oil and started using it in salads…the difference is incredible!  I still make my own salad dressing but oftentimes I just sprinkle my salad with salt and fresh pepper then drizzle with the “good” olive oil and some nice vinegar.  I really wish I discovered the difference high quality olive oil makes years ago.

Terra Medi Extra Virgin Olive Oil is my favorite olive oil for salads.  The flavor is smooth with hints of citrus.  At around $15 to $17 for 17 ounces, Terra Medi olive oil is an affordable luxury that will last a long time and makes all the difference in dishes where you want the ingredients to shine.   There is an organic version too that is equally delicious.  I buy Terra Medi olive oil at Fresh Market in Westport, CT.

For a real splurge, I love Oliviers & Co. Fontana San Giovanni Olive Oil.  It’s pricey at $38 for about 17 ounces but when you dunk some crusty bread into this oil you’ll really appreciate the quality.  You can order online at www.oliviersandco.com or visit the store in Grand Central Station in New York City.

My favorite uses for high quality olive oil:
-drizzled on a salad with balsamic vinegar.
-for dipping crusty bread (when you have a really good olive oil you don’t need to add dried herbs, vinegar or other flavor boosters for dipping).
-drizzled over bocconcini in an antipasti platter.
-toast baguette or other crusty bread.  Cut a garlic clove in half and rub over the bread then drizzle with olive oil.
-drizzled over a platter of ripe tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and basil.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    March 21, 2012 7:49 pm

    Yay! I’ve been hoping for an olive oil post! Thank you! Your suggestions are going on my shopping list immediately.

Trackbacks

  1. Tomatoes « Hannah's CT Kitchen

Leave a Reply

