Skip to content

The Best Mojito Recipe

April 21, 2012

When the weather starts getting warm in Spring, I get an urge to sit outside and drink mojitos.  We’ve had several days like this recently but I just got around to my first mojito of the season tonight.  Life is good.

I still remember the first time I tried a mojito.  The flavors weren’t balanced…too much rum, a fake citrus taste and way too sweet.  I knew the combination of rum, mint and lime should be refreshing and delicious.  I’ve tweaked a recipe over the years and I promise this mojito is better than any you will order at a restaurant or bar.  This really is the best mojito recipe.

I use a muddler to bruise the mint with the sugar, releasing the mint flavor.  If you don’t have a muddler, the back of a wooden spoon works well.  I actually have two muddlers, one is wooden and looks like a miniature baseball bat and the other is stainless steel with textured plastic at the end.  I much prefer the wooden one.  Mine isn’t fancy and I’m pretty sure it was less expensive than the stainless steel one (go figure).

This recipe is for one drink and, unfortunately, you really have to make the drinks individually.  Much as I would like to make a big pitcher for parties, they don’t turn out as well.  I love to make mojitos for smaller gatherings in the summer and do an assembly line, putting the sugar and mint in each glass, muddling, then adding the other ingredients.  It works perfectly for a round or two of drinks.

The Best Mojito
makes one drink

15 mint leaves
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 cup white rum, preferably Bacardi Superior
1/4 cup club soda or sparkling water

Muddle mint and sugar in the bottom of a glass with a muddler or the back of a wooden spoon.  Once the mint leaves are fragrant and slightly torn up, add the lime juice and rum.  Stir well.  Add ice cubes then top off with club soda or sparkling water and give one more stir.  Sit outside and enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    April 22, 2012 7:15 pm

    Delish! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Steph permalink
    April 30, 2012 10:58 pm

    Did you get a new table? Love that color!

  3. Michelle Thrapp permalink
    August 26, 2012 3:05 pm

    I had never liked Mojito’s before (from bars), but I planted mint and have so much I figured I better use some. Anyway, wow excellent recipe. It was easy to make and delicious. Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. Herb Planters & Progress in my Vegetable Garden « Hannah's CT Kitchen
  2. Summer Cocktail: Cherry Caipirissima « Hannah's CT Kitchen

Leave a Reply

