Skip to content

White Sangria

May 10, 2012

Not much of an introduction needed here…what’s better than booze and fruit?  I like fruity cocktails but oftentimes they are way too sweet and syrupy.  This white sangria is just sweet enough and has a nice fruity flavor. I love that there are options for the fruits, so be creative and use what you have on hand or what’s in season. When fresh peaches aren’t in season, I use about 1 1/2 cups frozen peaches and let them thaw slightly just so they are soft enough to chop.  Be sure to make this a few hours before serving so the flavors can all meld.

Sunday afternoon my Mom, Conrad and I sat on the porch enjoying sangria, guacamole and chips.  It was absolutely glorious and I recommend you do the same this weekend.  If you don’t have any outdoor space, just sit near a window!  You’ll start to relax immediately.

This sangria actually has sentimental value for me.  At my bridal shower, this recipe was tied to these adorable wooden spoons as a favor.  It was such a cute idea that my Mom and friends came up with and I smile whenever I use the spoon in the kitchen.

White Sangria
adapted from the New York Times
yields 8 drinks

2 small white nectarines or peaches
1 small green pear or green apple
1 small navel orange
1 bottle cava or other sparkling wine
1 3/4 cups apple juice, preferably Martinelli’s
1 1/3 cups triple sec
1 cup club soda or sparkling water

Cut fruit into bit size pieces and place in a large pitcher. Add the cava, apple juice and triple sec. Stir to combine. If possible, refrigerate for a few hours before serving to let the flavors combine. Stir in the club soda or sparkling water prior to serving. Pour sangria into glasses filled with ice. Relax and enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 5:02 pm

    I love sangria! I’m so glad it’s getting to be that time of year again. This looks beautiful.

Leave a Reply

