Skip to content

Herb Planters & Progress in my Vegetable Garden

May 14, 2012

As you may recall, a few weeks ago I planted seeds in my vegetable garden.  Two weeks in, there is plenty of life and activity!  The peas, lettuces and radishes all had small sprouts within one week; the carrots took a bit longer but are sprouting now.  Nature sure is amazing.

I need to thin out the seeds because they were surprisingly bountiful but here’s a little peak at my garden.  Left to right: carrots, radishes, lettuces and peas.

I also got around to planting my herbs pots over the weekend.  Chives, Italian parsley, rosemary, basil and mint (for mojitos!) look lush and green on our deck.  Now I have herbs on hand whenever I need them.

Here are my materials ready to go.

All will need: potted herbs of your choice (preferably organic), clay or plastic pots and potting soil (again, preferably organic.  I use Coast of Maine brand which is sold throughout New England).  You can keep herb planters outside on a deck or on the balcony of an apartment.  As I mentioned before, I’ve had great success with basil plants inside on a sunny windowsill.  I seriously underestimated the size of my pots so I ended up making four herb pots with a combination of herbs.

Here’s the finished product:

I threw some violas in with the chives – isn’t it a nice little pop of color?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 1:15 pm

    I wish I had a CT Kitchen and vegtable garden!

Leave a Reply

