Skip to content

Asparagus and Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry

May 29, 2012

Is it just me or did Memorial Day weekend go by WAY too quickly?  I feel like I blinked my eyes and it was over.  It sure does feel like summer and I can’t wait for all the delicious summer produce.  Peaches, tomatoes, local corn, watermelon…I’m ready!

Anyways,  one of my favorite Saturday errands is stopping by Double L Market.  Sometimes I go in with a list and other times I just see what Lloyd and Michael have in stock that looks fresh and delicious.  I picked up some asparagus that I intended to grill and some super fresh (as in it was picked Friday) and super local (I think it’s from Bayberry Lane) baby bok choy.  I’ve never cooked bok choy and figured I would just steam it or sauté it with some garlic.  I never got around to grilling that asparagus so tonight I made a quick little stir fry using the asparagus and baby bok choy.  I must say, even I was surprised how delicious it was!

Stir fries are the perfect weeknight meal.  They come together quickly, pack a ton of flavor and are usually healthy. The prep and cooking usually takes about the same amount of time it takes to steam rice.  In fact, I was staring at my pot of rice willing it to steam faster tonight.  You could easily add chicken or tofu for some protein – just stir fry it after the garlic and ginger, remove with a slotted spoon, stir fry veggies and add protein back for the last minute of cooking.


Asparagus and Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry
serves 2-3 as a main course (with rice) or serves 4 as a side dish

3 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
1 bunch asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1 1/2″ pieces
2 bunched baby bok choy
3 tablespoons soy sauce
crushed red pepper (optional)

Heat sesame oil over medium-high heat in a wok or sauté pan. Add garlic and ginger and stir fry for one minute. Add vegetables and soy sauce and stir fry for 3-4 minutes, stirring. Add 1-2 tablespoons of water, cover pan and let steam for one minute. Serve immediately over steamed rice and sprinkle with crushed red pepper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

