Skip to content

Red, White and Blue Popsicles

July 4, 2012

Does anyone else here have a Pinterest addiction? I’ve toned mine down a bit in recent months but when I first discovered Pinterest, I was a pinning fool. I don’t usually sit for hours on the computer but that’s exactly what I did. I justified it by telling myself I was gathering inspiration for our house, cooking, clothes, craft projects etc. Really I was wasting hours in the endless abyss that is the internet.

One of my Pinterest addiction frustrations (perhaps saving grace?) was that the Pinterest website is blocked at work. Enter foodgawker. My coworker and friend Meredith is a lot more hip and internet savvy than I am and she introduces me to all sorts of wonderful websites and blogs. Foodgawker is just what it sounds like…lots of pictures of food from blogs that you can gawk at. And the best part? It’s not blocked at work. I can eat lunch at my desk in food photo heaven and discover new blogs!

Anyways, I looked in my freezer recently and had half-full bags of frozen blueberries, strawberries and mango. For no apparent reason, the abundance of frozen fruit bothered me and I decided to make lots of smoothies in order to finish the fruit within the next few days. Then, I stumbled upon a gorgeous photo of double berry and coconut popsicles on foodgawker. I clicked through to the blog and realized I had all the ingredients on hand with just a few small tweaks. Forget smoothies!

If you have fresh berries, you can definitely use those instead. You’ll want to add sugar to your taste and depending on the sweetness of the berries. I wanted my berries to be just barely sweet so I added two teaspoons sugar to the strawberries but none to the blueberries because they had enough natural sweetness. You can also adjust the coconut mixture to your desired sweetness level. I found about a 2:1 ratio of unsweetened coconut milk to cream of coconut (I used Coco Reál brand) produced about the right sweetness; adjust to your own taste by adding an extra spoonful of coconut milk if it’s too sweet or extra cream of coconut if you’d like it more sweet.

I used traditional popsicle molds but you can definitely use a Zoku Quick Pop Maker, following the instructions for layered pops.

So in honor of the Fourth of July, here are my Red, White and Blue popsicles. Cooling, yummy and patriotic!

Red, White and Blue Popsicles
inspired by An Edible Mosaic
yields 9-10 popsicles

1 1/2 cups thawed frozen strawberries
2/3 cup unsweetened coconut milk, mixed well (usually found in the Thai section of the supermarket)
1/3 cup cream of coconut such as Coco Reál or Coco Lopez brand
2 cups thawed frozen blueberries
sugar

Purée strawberries in a blender or food processor. You should have about 1 cup purée. Add sugar, one teaspoon at a time, until you get desired sweetness (I used 2 teaspoons for just barely sweet). Fill popsicle molds approximately 1/3 full with strawberry purée. With the help of a rubber spatula, you should have enough for ten popsicles. Freeze until solid nearly solid.

Meanwhile, combine the coconut milk and cream of coconut. Once the strawberry layer is nearly solid, push the popsicle sticks into the strawberry layer. Pour the coconut mixture into the molds, filling another 1/3 full. Freeze until solid.

Purée the blueberries in a blender or food processor. You should have about 1 1/2 cups purée. Add sugar, one teaspoon at a time, until you reach desired sweetness. Once the coconut layer is frozen, pour the blueberry mixture into the molds, filling to the top. Freeze until solid.

To remove popsicles from mold, run the molds under warm water for a minute or two.  Pull and slightly turn the sticks to release.  Wrap each popsicle in wax paper then put all popsicles in a ziploc back.  Return to freezer until ready to serve.

Serve popsicles ice cold, preferably with sparklers in the other hand!

Leave a Reply

