Skip to content

Summer Fruit and Cream

July 10, 2012

Starting when I was six months old, every summer my family went to a small village in Cape Cod for the month of July.  It was a little slice of Americana and something out of a Norman Rockwell painting: kids running around and riding their bikes unsupervised, no one locked their doors (in fact, one morning we woke up to a neighborhood kid sitting on our couch, watching tv and eating cereal), days spent at the beach and ice cream cones every evening.  It was a wonderful summer vacation and when we went to different parts of the Cape when I was older, I always loved it.  My Mom lives in Cape Cod now so I still go every summer and get to experience the beautiful New England scenery.  Times have changed quite a bit but I still cherish the memories of my time as a child there.

Recently, I had a flashback to weekend breakfasts on the Cape with my Dad.  He used to fill a bowl with fruit – whatever we had on hand – blueberries, bananas, peaches, raspberries, strawberries.  Then, he poured cream over the top and we sat on the porch steps eating our fruit and cream together before heading to the beach for a day filled with swimming and sandcastles.

Conrad argues that this is not breakfast food but is dessert.  I’d say it isn’t healthy breakfast food but it sure is delicious and worthwhile to have a few times in the summer when berries and stone fruit are at their peak.  Plus, it brings me back to a simpler time and makes me smile. That alone makes it worth the calories and fat content.

Summer Fruit and Cream
serves one but easily multiplies

half a peach
half a banana (I omitted this because I didn’t have one on hand)
about one cup of berries: blueberries, raspberries, blackberries or strawberries
heavy cream

Cut peach into 1/2″ or 3/4″ pieces and slice banana. If using strawberries, cut into 3/4″ pieces. Fill a bowl with any combination of the fruit listed above. Pour heavy cream over the top, gently stir. Sit outside with a cup of coffee, relax and enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 9:14 am

    Love this post…my Mom used to make the same thing for me!

  2. Katherine DiLeo permalink
    July 13, 2012 12:22 pm

    Love this, makes me smile too!

Leave a Reply

