Skip to content

Cold Brew Coffee

July 23, 2012

Has anyone else noticed all the buzz about cold brew coffee lately? A wave of great coffee shops entered New York City over the last few years and they take coffee very seriously. Apparently, cold brewing coffee is the best way to make iced coffee and places like Stumptown and Joe* sell delicious cold brews. (Stumptown sells their cold brew in a bottle that looks like a beer bottle…very clever). I tried the cold brews from some of these shops and always thought it was great but, then again, I find all their coffee great.

I’m not an iced coffee conoisseur but I love a great cup of coffee – hot or cold. I get coffee from the deli outside my office every morning during the week and always get hot coffee no matter the temperature outside. It’s actually pretty good but I look forward to a cup of my own coffee at home on the weekends. In the summer, it’s nice to mix it up a bit with a cup of refreshing iced coffee.

I decided I had to try making cold brew coffee for myself. I wondered if it would really be super delicious. And more importantly, how fussy is it to make?

I did a quick Google search for cold brew recipes and the first hit was Ree Drummond from the Pioneer Woman. This is completely off topic and totally random, but Ree sure is a wealth of information: Google also directed me to her site when I was trying to figure out how to get a Shellac manicure off. What a woman! Anyway, back to cold brew. I used her method, although with smaller quantities, and the result was pretty delicious and couldn’t be easier. I even cheated on the deli and brought it to work with me one morning.

*for any of you fellow commuters into New York, there is a Joe in Grand Central where you can get really wonderful coffee drinks and beans.

Cold Brew Coffee
adapted from The Pioneer Woman
yields about 4 quarts

1/2 pound ground coffee
4 quarts cold water (filtered or spring water)

Pour coffee into a large container or pitcher then pour in water. Stir to combine. Cover the container and refrigerate for at least 12 hours and preferably 24.

Line a mesh strainer with several sheets of cheesecloth and place over a clean container or pitcher. Slowly pour the coffee mixture over the cheesecloth, pressing the coffee to squeeze out all the water. Put the strained cold brew back in the fridge to keep cold.

Serve over ice and with the coffee accompaniments of your choice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

