Skip to content

Mango Coconut Popsicles

July 30, 2012

I went a little popsicle crazy a few weeks ago. I was inspired to use up frozen fruit for red, white and blue popsicles but I also had frozen mango. While mixing the coconut for the white part of my patriotic pops, I realized mango and coconut would make a delicious popsicle.

Homemade popsicles are great because you know just what goes into them and can control the amount of sugar. I love store bought popsicles but I can’t help but think about the sweetener and dyes used. I used my Zoku Quick Pop Maker for these treats but you can just as easily use Dixie cups then stick in a wooden popsicle stick while they’re still a bit slushy. You can use just about any vessel and it’s fun to have unique shapes. Just make sure the bottom isn’t wider than the top because you won’t be able to get it out!

These popsicles couldn’t be easier and are a cold and creamy treat on a hot day. The coconut is on the subtle side so feel free to add more if you like a more pronounced coconut flavor.

After my popsicle binge, I have a bunch of healthy and homemade treats in the freezer to enjoy without any guilt.

What are your favorite popsicle flavors?

Mango Coconut Popsicles
yields about 6-7 popsicles (I had extra so filled two Dixie cups)

2 cups thawed frozen mango chunks
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk
1/4 cup cream of coconut, such as Coco Reál or Coco Lopez

Purée mango in a blender or food processor (I love to use my handheld blender for tasks like this). Stir in coconut milk and cream of coconut. Mix well. Pour mixture into popsicle molds and let freeze until slushy before putting popsicle sticks in. Or, use a Zoku Quick Pop Maker according to manufacturer instructions. If you use a Zoku, the instructions tell you to put the sticks in before pouring in fruit mixture. This mixture is rather thick so I found it better to fill the molds about 2/3 of the way to the fill line then add the sticks and top off if necessary.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

