Skip to content

Bread & Butter Pickles

September 3, 2012

I’ve been a little lax with the blog lately. I said in a recent post that I’ve been busy enjoying the last few weeks of summer and that’s the cold, hard truth. I spent some time on Cape Cod – first with Conrad and friends, then enjoying a blissful few days with my Mom – and I’m savoring all the fresh summer produce I can. Fresh fish, corn on the cob, peaches, tomatoes, cucumbers, did I mention corn on the cob? Fall is my favorite season and I can tell the weather is starting to turn. I’m looking forward to apples, roast pork, braises and cool evenings by the fire with a glass of wine. But, I’m not ready to let go of summer just yet. This year may be different since it was so hot early in the season, but here in New England you can usually get delicious corn and tomatoes through September. Soak up every last drop of summer people!

Now, onto the point of this post: pickles! I love pickles. I’ve loved pickles ever since I was a little girl. One day while visiting my Mom, we made delicious grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches for lunch. I looked in the fridge for pickles to serve with our sandwiches and saw an unmarked jar of pickles flecked with little slices of onion. They were from my Mom’s neighbor and she hadn’t tried them yet. Let’s just say the entire jar was gone by the next day (it was a small jar, I swear). I had to get my hands on the recipe. We asked her neighbor for the recipe and she kindly shared it. As soon as I returned home from my visit with Mom, I went to the market to get kirby cukes and set about making these gems. It couldn’t be easier…the hardest part is waiting 24 hours to dig in! Once the pickles are in a jar, let them sit for another day or two to soak up even more pickle flavor.

These beauties will last three months in the fridge.

Bread & Butter Pickles
courtesy of Connie M
yields 3-4 pints (1.5-2 quarts)

7 cups kirby (pickle) cucumbers, thinly sliced, from about 7-8 small or medium kirbies
1 cup white onion, thinly sliced
1 green pepper, thinly sliced
2 cups sugar
1 cup white vinegar
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 generous teaspoon celery seed
1 generous teaspoon yellow mustard seed

Whisk sugar, vinegar, salt, celery seed and mustard seed in a large bowl until sugar is mostly dissolved and no longer clumping. Add cucumbers, onion and peppers and stir well to combine. It won’t look like there is enough liquid but don’t worry, the cucumbers will release water as they sit in the pickling mixture. Cover the bowl and store in the refrigerator for 24 hours.

After 24 hours, transfer the pickles into jars, dividing the liquid among the jars. Store jars in refrigerator and let pickle for another 24 to 48 hours for the best flavor. Pickles will keep, refrigerated, for up to three months (although I know I’ll eat mine WELL before then!).

Note: I misread the recipe and used more onion in my batch so you may not have as many slices when you make them. I probably used about 2 cups and they are still tasty.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda.r.mccullough@gmail.com permalink
    September 3, 2012 8:29 pm

    Omg I’m obsessed with pickles. Have you tried those dill pickles in a bag?! They are so freaking salty but so convenient-individually wrapped!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. September 3, 2012 8:30 pm

    I wish I still had some cucumbers left. I made brine pickles with mine, but now my husband is saying he wished I’d made some bread and butter pickles.

    • September 3, 2012 8:55 pm

      Heidi – I love briney pickles too. I’ll have to try those next year. Although, they still have some good cucumbers at farm stands around here…

Leave a Reply

