Skip to content

Zucchini Bread

September 13, 2012

Whenever I saw zucchini bread at a bake sale as I child, I always thought it sounded weird. Was it savory? Sweet? I couldn’t wrap my arms around it. I wasn’t until several years ago that I realized zucchini bread was no different than carrot cake…a delicious treat that just so happens to have a vegetable in it.

I’ve only had zucchini bread a few times and never made it before but had the perfect occasion recently to give it a try. My day job is in finance which can be stressful at times (we even have a few cranks who are difficult to work with…can you imagine that?). A group of us at work love food and are always talking about cooking. Every once in awhile we choose a day to bring in food that usually revolves around a theme, i.e. cheese day, Irish food for St. Patrick’s Day, Mexican food etc. The Friday before Labor Day was an ode to summer and my contribution was zucchini bread. It was well received and since it has veggies, it’s healthy. Right?

Zucchini bread would be a great addition to a late summer brunch or dessert at a picnic. Wrapped in parchment and tied with string, it’s definitely gift worthy.

Zucchini Bread
adapted from Smitten Kitchen
yields 2 standard loaves or 4 small loaves

3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups sugar
3 cups grated zucchini, from about 1 1/2 medium-large zucchinis
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon table salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350°.

Butter and flour loaf pans liberally. You can use two 8.5″ x 4″ or four 5.5″ x 3″ pans.

Beat eggs in a large bowl with a whisk. Whisk in oil and sugar and mix well to combine. Stir in vanilla extract and zucchini.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients plus walnuts. Stir dry ingredients into the zucchini/egg mixture, mixing just until combined.

Divide batter evenly among pans. Bake for 60 minutes for standard loaves, checking after 50 minutes. For small loaves, bake for 40 minutes, checking after 30-35 minutes. Let cool in pans for 10-15 minutes, then turn out of pans and let cool completely on a wire rack.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 8:09 pm

    I love zucchini bread. I’ll give this a try with some of the zucchini I put in the freezer.

  2. September 14, 2012 6:33 am

    Gosh, this looks marvellous ! I’m so loving it! =D

  3. Judith OBrien permalink
    September 14, 2012 8:54 am

    Hannah, Read over your recipe for the Z. bread….. How did eggplants sneak in? Is there some hanky panky between the zukes and the aubergines? Imagine! 🙂 May try the recipe, but not until after the wedding. xoxo

    • September 14, 2012 9:30 am

      oops! fixed it. I must have had eggplant on my mind even though I was making zucchini bread. So much for proof reading.

  4. Lisa permalink
    September 14, 2012 1:34 pm

    Love this recipe! Emi and I were comparing the recipe with ours because we like the idea of making two loaves at once instead of just one at a time. She asked me how zucchini came from an eggplant. She didn’t like the idea of TWO vegetables in one bread. I assured it, there was no eggplant in the recipe! 🙂
    .

    • September 14, 2012 3:05 pm

      Lisa – sorry about that typo! I agree with Emi, two veggies in bread might be too much. I like that this recipe yields two loaves as well. You can always pop one in the freezer for another time.

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast Gift Basket & Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Pancake Mix « Hannah's CT Kitchen

Leave a Reply

