Skip to content

Breakfast Gift Basket & Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Pancake Mix

September 18, 2012

I’m lucky to have really great friends and I must say they are a talented bunch. I’m sure everyone thinks that about their friends but mine really are. They’re all successful in fields as diverse as law, nursing, finance, sales, fashion and art. This post is about my friend Sandy who is a graphic designer. She recently launched a blog and is in the process of starting her own business and opening an etsy shop with custom paper designs and invitations.

I love paper and stationery. I was downright giddy when working with our stationer for wedding invitations. Embossing, letterpress, double thick paper, gorgeous fonts…these are things I get excited about!

Alas, this is a blog about food and cooking, not paper, so back to my friend Sandy. We started chatting about blogging awhile ago and she very kindly offered to help me with a custom blog header. She used a photo I took of some seasonal produce, adjusted the colors and added a nice traditional font. As a thank you for her time, I thought it would be fun to get in my kitchen and make her a gift basket. Who doesn’t love a basket filled with goodies?

I decided on a breakfast themed basket and brainstormed a mix of things I could make and buy to create a beautiful and yummy basket.

Contents of Breakfast Basket
-bag of coffee beans
-homemade buttermilk chocolate chip pancake mix, recipe below
-real maple syrup. I like Grade B which has a more pronounced maple flavor. Grade A Dark Amber is also good.
-small zucchini bread loaves
-Ina Garten’s lemon yogurt cake, without syrup or glaze for easy wrapping

First, I bought a basket from a craft store and filled it with paper shreds I keep on hand for packages and gifts. (what’s that? You don’t have a closet filled with ribbon, tissue and other wrapping supplies? I love a beautifully wrapped gift so keep everything I need on hand. Crazy, I know). Sandy’s blog has a blue and orange color scheme so I used blue and orange throughout the basket. Then, I arranged the items in the basket, along with a thank you note, wrapped it up with cellophane paper and tied it with a satin bow. Voila!

Be sure to check out Sandy’s blog, Roseville Designs, and look for updates on the opening of her etsy shop!

Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Pancake Mix
inspired by A Cozy Kitchen
fits perfectly in a 32 ounce canning jar. Mix yields 18-20 pancakes

note: the mix will depend on the brand of buttermilk powder you use. I doubled the recipe on the box and added chocolate chips. If you use a different brand, see what ratio is recommended on the box or company’s website.

8 tablespoons SACO Buttermilk Blend
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Combine buttermilk blend, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Pour into a 32 ounce canning jar (I used a canning funnel for this which is so handy). Top with chocolate chips.

Instructions:
Add 2 eggs, beaten, 2 cups water and 4 tablespoons vegetable oil to pancake mix. Beat until almost combined and add chocolate chips. Don’t overmix! Yields 18-20 pancakes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 9:57 am

    I’m the lucky one! Your gift basket was delicious and I am constantly in awe of your creativity and thoughtfulness. Thanks for the shout-out!

Leave a Reply

