Skip to content

Popcorn

October 8, 2012

I’ve been going through a serious popcorn phase lately. It’s a great snack and, depending on your choice, can be quite healthy. Popcorn is also a great appetizer for a dinner party – I like to put bowls out with cocktails for a light snack and it’s an easy addition to a more substantial cocktail party. Forget buttered popcorn, there are some great brands on the market right now with palate-pleasing flavors your friends (and you!) will love.

Below are some of my store bought favorites. I have a bag of popcorn kernels in the pantry so I can experiment with some of my own flavors. I’ll share the results soon!

479º Popcorn
It’s hard not to love sophisticated flavors like Fleur de Sel Caramel and Black Truffle + White Cheddar. Try not to eat a whole bag in one setting, I dare you! I justify my habit by telling myself that the Black Truffle + White Cheddar is healthy at only 140 calories for a two cup serving. Available at select stores nationwide and online.

image courtesy of 479 popcorn

Pipcorn
My wonderful friend Jennifer introduced me to this awesome local treat. It’s SO good! Pipcorn is hulless popcorn so it doesn’t have any of those hard kernels that can get stuck in your teeth and are apparently difficult to digest. If the lack of kernels in your teeth isn’t reason enough to give Pipcorn a try, yummy flavors like Rosemary, Kettle and Crabby (think Old Bay seasoning) should convince you. Available in the New York City metro area and online.

photo courtesy of http://lovelypackage.com

Kennedy’s Kettle Corn
This is my newest popcorn obsession. I love the very subtle sweetness combined with a just a hint of salt. It’s a local Connecticut producer and sold at Double L in Westport. I’m determined to try to replicate this at home. I’ll be happy if it’s half as good!

Do you have a type of popcorn you love? How about tips for making your own popcorn?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

