Skip to content

Thanksgiving Planning, Part I

October 22, 2012

The countdown to Thanksgiving has begun in our house!  We recently ordered our turkey and it got me thinking about the big day.  We usually follow roughly the same menu but will swap in one or two new recipes just to keep things interesting.  This will be my fourth year hosting Thanksgiving and I really enjoy all that goes into the day.  It’s is one of my favorite holidays: the food is delicious, I love the rituals and it’s nice to spend some time in the kitchen with my family.  Plus, what’s not to love about a holiday devoted to food?!?

You might be thinking that Thanksgiving is over a month away so why am I talking about it already?  The answer is simple: the number one ingredient to a successful meal is planning.  If you’re hosting Thanksgiving or even if you are just contributing a dish or two to a potluck, now is the time to start planning.  Over the next few weeks I’ll be sharing some of my favorite tips and tricks that will make the big day go smoothly.  Below is my preliminary checklist and the things you need to be thinking about right now.

If you are you hosting Thanksgiving at your house:

Just to give you an idea, this is the blueprint in our house – specifics to come later!

I think that’s enough to get your head spinning for now. Next week we’ll get to some of the nitty gritty organization that’s going to ensure dinner is on the table when you want and all the food is warm!  I’ll also share some of my favorite Thanksgiving recipes.  This year I’m on the hunt for foolproof pie recipes since dessert was an utter failure last year – any recommendations?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 5:06 pm

    I’m excited for this series! I am hosting for the first time in our new house this year. Any recommendations you have for those with limited oven space are appreciated!

    • October 22, 2012 6:27 pm

      I have plans for those with one oven or two. I cooked my first Thanksgiving in a small NYC apartment kitchen and one oven so I’ve got you covered 🙂

Leave a Reply

