Skip to content

Cranberry Apple Cider Glazed Chicken

December 27, 2012

chicken1

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m starting to feel rather full.  I’ve enjoyed way too many Christmas sweets, much too much butter, cheese and dairy and I’m generally in need of some lighter fare.  I don’t need to wait until January 1st to lighten up a bit.  I’m all for indulging but I also firmly believe that healthy doesn’t have to mean bland and it certainly shouldn’t lack flavor.  Healthy can absolutely be satisfying and this chicken dish fits the bill.

Even before Christmas, I was feeling the need to lighten up a bit so we had this for dinner the night before Christmas Eve. Not only was it delicious, but served with braised kale and quinoa, the plate looked quite festive! I had my butcher cut a whole chicken into pieces, but feel free to use bone-in chicken breasts, thighs or a combination of the two.

The origin of this recipe is rather humorous. I never got into the Fifty Shades of Grey craze but many of my friends and coworkers got a kick out of the book. A coworker who read the book and loves to cook giddily handed me a cookbook he received as a gift last week. It was Fifty Shades of Chicken, a cookbook spoof on Fifty Shades of Grey, written from the perspective of the chicken. As I glanced through the cookbook, I was surprised to see some of the recipes looked great so I copied a few down. I’ve adapted it here and cleaned up the language for my polite readers…

chicken2

Cranberry Apple Cider Glazed Chicken
adapted from Fifty Shades of Chicken
serves 4

1 cup apple cider
1/2 cup dried cranberries
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 cinnamon stick
1 inch piece fresh ginger, smashed with the back of a knife
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3 pounds bone-in, skin-on chicken parts
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
2 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces

Preheat oven to 450°. Combine cider, cranberries, vinegar, cinnamon, ginger and pepper in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer until the cranberries are soft and liquid is reduced by two thirds, about 20 minutes. The mixture will have a slight syrupy consistency. Discard the cinnamon and ginger.

Pat chicken dry with a paper towel and season with salt. Place in roasting pan, skin side up, without crowding the pieces. Spoon sauce over the chicken and dot with butter. Roast for about 40 minutes, or until browned around edges and cooked through.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gail permalink
    December 27, 2012 3:02 pm

    This recipe looks delcious. I will definitely try it. Thanks, Hannah!

Leave a Reply

