Skip to content

A Weekend Away & Winter Musings

February 2, 2013

20130202-162453.jpg

20130202-162636.jpg

This weekend I am out of my kitchen, enjoying a few days skiing in beautiful Deer Valley, Utah. I’ve been thinking about my blog and ways to post more reguarly despite my hectic schedule and I realized there’s no reason I can’t share inspiration I find on the internet as well as other random musings. You don’t expect me to always be holed up in my kitchen, do you?

1. Winter Cold Cure. Like many Americans, I have been suffering from a bit of a cold the last week or two. I came across Moxie’s Cold Cure-all in a recent issue of Bon Appetit and it sounded like the perfect remedy for a sore throat and stuffy nose. I love the kick of cayenne and the heat from the fresh ginger. In the morning, when I’m rushing around to get out of the house and catch my train, I don’t have the time or patience for fresh ginger so I make my cheaters version which is just as good.

So here’s my quick cold cure-all recipe: Bring water to a boil in your kettle (hint: it will boil faster if you just boil enough for your cup of tea). Squeeze all the juice from half a lemon into your travel mug. Add a pinch of cayenne pepper and 1/8 to 1/4 tsp ground ginger. Squeeze honey into the cup and count to 8 (this is a very precise measurement). If you have echinacea extract, add one eye dropper full, otherwise omit. Add boiling water and stir with a fork or knife. Carefully taste and add more honey or ginger, to taste. Secure lid on travel mug, rush out of the house and enjoy a sweet, tart, spicy beverage on your commute to work!

2. Superbowl Sunday. This weekend is Superbowl Sunday. It’s been a few years since I even watched the Superbowl. Last year we were on a flight to India, the year before we were in California catching up with friends and I probably won’t watch it this year either. This reveals two important things about me: I’m not a football fan and apparently I go on a trip in early February every year.

When most people think of the Superbowl they think of chicken wings, the halftime show, commercials, nachos and football. Not me. I think of flat tires. Several years ago, when Conrad and I were dating, we were driving to his apartment where I was going to make football fare and we were going to watch the Superbowl. As we were driving along the FDR Drive in Manhattan, we got a flat tire. If you’ve ever traveled along the FDR Drive, you know that a) it is very narrow highway with no shoulder, b) people drive like maniacs, especially taxis, c) it’s not surprising one would get a flat tire because there are large chunks of pavement missing from the road every 10 feet. Luckily, we were near an entrance so there was a very small shoulder and we made our way over. A tow truck appeared and was the only company authorized to tow from the FDR but he left us on a small side street on the upper east side. Being 5pm on Superbowl Sunday, finding another tow company was a Herculean task. The details are a little fuzzy now, but I made my way to Conrad’s apartment and made real french onion dip, he walked in the door a few hours later having left his car in a veterinarian’s parking lot (seriously). So, Superbowl Sunday makes me think of flat tires.

On Sunday we’re having dinner at my favorite restaurant in Deer Valley, J&G Grill where I’ll have a Ginger Margarita and toast to the Superbowl and flat tires.

If you are enjoying the Superbowl at home, I suggest making Mexican Layer Dip and also enjoying a margarita. Cheers!

3. Homemade almond milk. I made spiced almond banana milk this last weekend and have one word: YUM!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

