Skip to content

Midweek Musings

March 13, 2013

It’s been fairly quiet in my kitchen the past week or two.  We were away last weekend visiting visiting my Mom where we enjoyed a delicious and comforting baked ziti.  It made me wonder why I don’t make baked ziti more often.  We are also in the middle of some work around our house which takes up a surprising amount of time, even though we aren’t doing the work.  Who knew making decisions and choosing fixtures etc. could be so time consuming?

Some musings for the week:

insta

I’m on Instagram and loving it!  I’m a slow adopter when it comes to new technology so many of you are probably old pros with Instagram already.  Anyways, it’s so fun to peruse pictures and see the world through neat filters.  Follow me @hannahsctkitchen.

Whole Foods announced this week it will start labeling all foods that contain genetically modified organisms (GMOs) in its stores by 2018.  This is a big win for those of us want to know what we’re consuming and don’t entirely trust Big Food that GMOs are harmless.  If it’s labeled organic you can be sure it doesn’t contain GMOs but going forward, we’ll be able to choose whether we are consuming GMOs when shopping at Whole Foods. I already do most of my food shopping at Whole Foods but this will certainly keep me a loyal customer.  Read more here.

Speaking of grocery stores, one of the things I miss about living in New York City is Fresh Direct, the online grocery store. The selection and quality were great, I loved the ease of going online to place an order, perusing the specialty produce and puttering about at home while waiting for my groceries to arrive. Fresh Direct has expanded into the suburbs but not to my town. I contacted them last week to see if there are plans for further expansion but no luck so far. Conrad was amused by this and commented that I currently go to four different grocery stores, an independent market, a butcher and a fish market…he couldn’t help but wonder why, with seven great food markets already in my arsenal, I wanted another one. What can I say? I love to grocery shop!

One of my goals for 2013 was to consume more whole grains and experiment with the different varieties now readily available.  Quinoa and farro are regulars in my diet now and this weekend I am excited to try barley risotto.  If it’s a winner, be on the lookout for the recipe.

Lastly, I gave up sweets for Lent and it is torture!!  I’ve done this many times with no problems – the first week is rough but after that I don’t crave sweets and go on my merry way for the rest of Lent.  This year I am struggling and the overwhelming presence of girl scout cookies in my office is not making it easier.  Needless to say, I am counting down the days until Easter (18) and can’t wait to make some yummy springtime sweets!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

